Facebook is an excellent social media platform for staying in touch with loved ones. However, there are times when other users might block you. Users of this social media platform have access to a variety of security and privacy controls. However, it does not notify you whenever a Facebook user blocks you. However, there are some indicators that you can use to identify Facebook users who might have blocked you. This article tells you how to know if someone blocked you on Facebook. Keep reading it, then.
1) How To Know If Someone Blocked You on Facebook
It can be difficult to determine whether a Facebook account has been deactivated or blocked at times. Both of these look the same, but your Facebook page no longer displays them. You can’t even send them messages or read their posts. To safeguard user privacy, Facebook does not reveal the identity of the person who blocked you. Fortunately, you can try a few things; let’s see what happens right away!
1.1 Taken Off Your List Of Friends:
When you block someone on Facebook, they immediately disappear from your friend list. This is the first indication that Facebook has blocked you. If you have more than one thousand friends on your list, this method won’t be easy for you. Nevertheless, you can try the following steps:
- First, sign in to your Facebook account.
- Tap the Friends icon on the left side of the page to access the Friends List.
- You can select All friends from the menu on the left side of your Facebook home page.
- Now, in the search results, enter the friend’s name; if it does not appear, they have blocked you on Facebook.
1.2 Blocks Access To a Person’s Profile:
When you are unable to view their profile page, you will know that they have blocked you. Try searching for the person’s name in the search bar to find out more. If you can’t see their Facebook account, that means they have blocked you.
1.3 Posts in the Facebook Feed won’t Show Up:
Their posts will no longer appear in your Facebook feed, which is an additional thing you will notice. This only lets you know if a person has been blocked if they are active on Facebook. It’s not always clear why Facebook’s algorithms might not show their posts sometimes. They may also be on your friend list, but their privacy settings have changed. If they have ever commented on your post, check for the specific post by following these steps:
- Select settings and privacy from the top-right menu, then activity log, filter, and activity log.
- Now select individuals and conduct a name search for them.
Your Facebook page will still display their posts and feed, but you won’t be able to click on their profile. Instead, it will be shown in bold, black text as “Does Not Appear in Your Search Results:”
From your Facebook page, you can use the search bar to type the person’s name. If the person whose name you are looking for does not appear, they have probably unfriended or blocked you.
1.4 They Can’t Be Tagged:
Try tagging the specific person to see if they might have blocked you. If you are unable to tag them, you have been blocked.
1.5 Cannot Send a Message on Facebook Messenger:
You can also find out by messaging them on Facebook messenger to determine whether you have been blocked on Facebook. If an error message appears, it is evident that you are blocked. Follow the steps below to verify:
- Try sending messages to that person by opening your messenger.
- This message will appear on the screen: “You cannot reply to this conversation” if you have been blocked.
- From the chat history, you won’t be able to access their profile page.
- If you can’t find it in the chat history, just type the person’s name into your Facebook account’s search field.
1.6 No Longer Have Access to Their Facebook Page:
Try accessing your friend’s Facebook account using the URL link from their profile if you have it. If you receive the message that content is no longer available, that individual has most likely blocked you. If you want to make sure that your friend hasn’t blocked you, go through the steps below:
- Navigate to your Facebook page’s search bar.
- On the profile page, now enter the name of the person you are looking for.
The user has certainly blocked you on Facebook if their profile does not appear.
1.7 They Can’t Be Added To a Group:
You will be unable to invite them to groups if they have blocked you. If you can’t find the person by typing their name into the group, you have unfriended or been blocked by them.
Create an event by going to Events.
After that, enter the details in the Create Private Event section.
By tagging them, you can now invite that person. You are blocked by the individual if you are unable to directly add them.
1.8 Take Help From a Friend You Share:
You can get a friend of yours’ assistance by accessing their Facebook account to confirm that you have been blocked. If a user’s Facebook home page displays their profile, that user has blocked you. Let’s move on to the next few steps:
- You have already logged in to the Facebook website; the next step is to log out and sign in using the app.
- Now conduct a Google search to locate their name first.
- Once you have that, substitute the profile name for their name in the search field.
- After that, you can go to their profile by clicking the link from the search engine. There, you can see a preview of their profile based on the settings they have set.
Note: This method only works on your mobile device, so the chances of getting confirmation of your account being blocked are lesser.
These methods will tell you how to know if someone blocked you on Facebook and give you peace of mind(or heartbreak) by knowing for sure.
2) Frequently Asked Questions
Q: How can you tell the difference between if someone has unfriended or blocked you?
A: When a Facebook user unfriends you, you can see almost everything, including posts, mutual friend lists, and comments. If nothing is amiss between you, you can send them a friend request once more. On the other hand, if someone blocks your Facebook account, you won’t be able to see or get in touch with them, and their Facebook profile won’t show up on your page.
Q: How do you get in touch with a Facebook user who blocked you?
A: Since Facebook users occasionally block you by accident, they are likely to respond to your messages. Here is a list of a few of your options for sending messages here:
Create a New Account on Facebook:
You can easily communicate with a Facebook user who has blocked you accidentally with a new account. You can break free of the block by following these steps:
In Facebook Search, create a new profile page for the friends who may have blocked you by accident.
Send them a message using Messenger.
Important: The user who blocked you may not want to see your message; they may report you, which could be linked to your real account. By the terms of service of Facebook, you can only have one account; if you have more than one, you risk being banned from or removed from your primary Facebook account.
Q: Is it possible to view the profiles of all blocked individuals?
A: No, you can’t look at their profile if they block you on Facebook; Facebook hides information about users’ accounts to protect their privacy. You can try searching for them by following the steps above; however, if you do not find them, either they are not using the Facebook app or they have blocked you.
Q: Is it possible to access previous Facebook messages after being blocked?
A: Try to recall instances on your Facebook page where they contacted you, such as birthday messages or festive greetings. You can also see it from your friend list if you are unable to do so from your account.
Those posts and feeds will still be there, regardless of your friendship status; however, if that person blocked you, you won’t see their profile picture; instead, you’ll only see a question mark with their name hidden behind a black box.
Q: Can I block the person who stopped me?
A: Yes! It’s possible that someone has defeated you and you don’t want them to look at your profile. How to block them is as follows:
- Tap Blocking in the settings.
- After that, search for the friends you want to block by tapping Edit and Add to the blocked list.
- You will see “Block” next to the user name; select it to finish.
The world of social media is a tricky one. We’ve all had situations which have led to people blocking us or vice versa. While this article might help you find confirmation of the fact if a person has blocked you on Facebook, it won’t help you any further. It is ultimately up to us to accept the situations that have happened and the fact that we are no longer in contact with certain people. Go ahead and maybe do a digital detox or stay off Facebook.